Applause For Our Volunteers

The house was full on Wednesday, December 9, 2015 for The Project's annual Volunteer Appreciation Awards and Reception at Jones Walker, which followed the year-end Professionalism CLE, "Avoiding Common Pitfalls in Discovery." (See related story: CLE)

Thank you to everyone who came to applaud our volunteers' tremendous efforts in 2015, a year in which The Project helped more than 2,200 people in just over 1,400 cases.

In addition to the CLE and Awards, Board Chair Carole Cukell Neff took time to acknowledge and thank retiring Executive Director Rachel Piercey for her more than 29 years of service to The Project. Carole presented Rachel with a beautiful silver-framed certificate and crystal vase from Tiffany & Co.

At the end of the Volunteer Awards presentation, Rachel acknowledged the staff and thanked the many volunteers, Board members and funders who served with her over the years to make The Project what it is today. She was also presented with a framed plaque from Southeast Louisiana Legal Services (SLLS) Executive Director Laura Tuggle and SLLS Board President Warren McKenna III and Board member Christopher Ralston. (Download and read the SLLS tribute: SLLS.)

A lovely post-awards reception helped to round out the evening's events and close the books on 2015, well almost ...

Special thanks to our three presenters: The Honorable Regina H. Woods, Judge, Division B, Orleans Parish CDC and The Honorable Daniel E. Knowles, III, Judge, U. S. District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana and The Honorable Terri Love, Judge, Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, as well as to our CLE organizer and moderator, attorney Chauntis T. Jenkins of Porteous, Hainkel Johnson, LLP.

Onto the applause ...

Our 2015 Phenomenal Pro Bono Pros are:

Pro Bono Law Firm
Curry & Friend, PLC

Pro Bono Corporate Partner
LesCo Productions, LLC

Pro Bono Law School
Tulane University Law School

Friend of Pro Bono
Franco Gumbel

Pro Bono Law Student
Ryan Quinones

Pro Bono Paralegal
Suzanna Craig

Distinguished Donor
Herman Herman & Katz, LLC

Distinguished Jurist
The Honorable Robin Giarrusso
Judge, Civil District Court, Parish of Orleans

Distinguished Service Awards
Nadege Assale'
Jonah Freedman
Meredith Grabill
Pamela Hansen
Gary Zwain

Please download a complete biography on these key awardees, plus the 100+ hour Attorneys and Business Professionals and the 100+ hour Capital Clerks at: Meet the Awardees. Download the full event program including the 2015 Honor Roll at: 2015 Program.

A note of thanks to longtime friend of The Project, Walt Pierce, for capturing the images of the evening in the photo gallery.

Once again, The Pro Bono Project, its staff and Board congratulate and thank all the volunteers and awardees who helped us fulfill our mission and make 2015 a year of great service to the six parish area we serve. Happy Holidays to all!